Review: The Edge of Everything

The Edge of Everything
The Edge of Everything
Author: Jeff Giles
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Genre/Themes: Fantasy, Paranormal
Release Date: January 31st, 2017
Format: Ebook

Synopsis

It’s been a shattering year for seventeen-year-old Zoe, who’s still reeling from her father’s shockingly sudden death in a caving accident and her neighbors’ mysterious disappearance from their own home. Then on a terrifying sub-zero, blizzardy night in Montana, she and her brother are brutally attacked in a cabin in the woods–only to be rescued by a mysterious bounty hunter they call X.

X is no ordinary bounty hunter. He is from a hell called the Lowlands, sent to claim the soul of Zoe’s evil attacker and others like him. Forbidden to reveal himself to anyone other than his victims, X casts aside the Lowlands’ rules for Zoe. As X and Zoe learn more about their different worlds, they begin to question the past, their fate, and their future. But escaping the Lowlands and the ties that bind X might mean the ultimate sacrifice for both of them.

Review

This was an enjoyable young adult fantasy novel with a lot of humour, romance, and warmth. The story was interesting and fast-paced and a lot of things about it were very unique. However, there were a few tropes included in this novel that I disliked.

I’ve seen a lot about this book on Twitter, which was why I was so intrigued by it. I liked the idea of a rogue bounty hunter, and from the synopsis, I was expecting a really dark story, but it wasn’t dark at all. Unfortunately, it fell into the trap of one of my least favourite young adult romance tropes, insta-love. I can’t stand it when someone falls in love with someone after barely speaking to them, and that was a big part of this novel.

I also have a problem with novels where the male love interest repeatedly “saves” the girl from harm. In this book, even though Zoe is strong and capable, she’s still saved by X multiple times. It’s such a common trope now, and it’s another one that really bothers me.

The story is extremely fast-paced and exciting, and the concept is really unique. The whole backstory of X and his friends from the Lowlands is something I’ve never seen done in a book before, and that’s truly the best part of this book.

The characterization and relationships in this novel (apart from the insta-love) were also spot on. Zoe’s relationship with her brother and mother was such a rewarding interaction because you could see they deeply cared for each other and were close to each other. In a lot of young adult books, the parents are absent for a lot of the time, but that wasn’t the case here. Zoe’s relationship with her family and friends is extremely important. Her relationship with her best friend was also really perfect.

I enjoyed the writing for the most part. Jeff Giles made the decision to include recent social media trends in his novel (Tumblr, Snapchat, Instagram), and that’s not something I’d ever do if I wrote a book because it dates a novel, but I understand why he chose to do it and it didn’t bother me a lot. The writing is simple, but some of the descriptions were lovely.

Overall, this is a really solid start to a series. I think it will do well, but I will most likely not be continuing with the series because I never felt any strong connection to the characters or the story. However, if you’re a fan of young adult fantasy/romances and the premise sounds interesting, I definitely recommend you read it.

I received a copy of this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This has affected my review in no way.

Leave a Reply

