Review: The Assassin Game – Kirsty McKay

The Assassin GameAt Cate’s isolated boarding school Killer is more than a game-it’s an elite secret society. Members must avoid being “killed” during a series of thrilling pranks-and only the Game Master knows who the “killer” is. When Cate’s finally invited to join The Guild of Assassins, she knows it’s her ticket to finally feeling like she belongs.

But when the game becomes all too real, the school threatens to shut it down. Cate will do anything to keep playing and save The Guild. But can she find the real assassin-before she’s the next target?

Unfortunately, this is a book that I had to abandon. The start of the book was pretty interesting, and I was really excited by the premise of the book. I love boarding school novels and this was a thriller, which is my favourite genre to read these days.

My biggest problem with the novel and the reason why I had to stop reading was the really juvenile writing  and the cheesy scenes. I stopped reading as soon as the male romantic lead was introduced. It was just so angsty and dramatic, and strangely written.

Perhaps the plot would have been decent, but the idea of reading 300 pages of cringe-inducing writing and a main character who was already grating on my nerves wasn’t appealing in the least.

Since this is a young adult novel that reads very juvenile, this book wasn’t for me. While I didn’t enjoy it, I think a younger audience might like it.

I received a copy of this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This has affected my review in no way.

Leave a Reply

