Review: Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour – Morgan Matson

Amy & Roger's Epic Detour Amy Curry thinks her life sucks. Her mom decides to move from California to Connecticut to start anew–just in time for Amy’s senior year. Her dad recently died in a car accident. So Amy embarks on a road trip to escape from it all, driving cross-country from the home she’s always known toward her new life. Joining Amy on the road trip is Roger, the son of Amy’s mother’s old friend. Amy hasn’t seen him in years, and she is less than thrilled to be driving across the country with a guy she barely knows. So she’s surprised to find that she is developing a crush on him. At the same time, she’s coming to terms with her father’s death and how to put her own life back together after the accident.

This is my first Morgan Matson book. She’s known for her young adult contemporary novels because they’re always cute and summer-y. I didn’t have very high expectations for this book mostly because this is one of my least favourite genres. However, I was pleasantly surprised by this novel. There was nothing incredible about it, but I thought Morgan Matson’s portrayal of grief was really realistic.

I haven’t read a lot of road trip books, but I liked the plot of this one. It was really interesting to learn about American states as Amy does because I know little to nothing about American geography, though the idea of driving cross country across Canada has always seemed like a fun idea. The places all seemed to change Amy, and it was so subtly and gradually done that it seemed  completely realistic.

I also really liked all the people that Amy met. A few of them were written as cliches, but it didn’t mother me that much. I didn’t really love or hate Roger. I had no strong feelings for him at all. The romance was probably my least favourite part of this book. It didn’t annoy me, but it was so needlessly overwrought and unnecessary.

I’ll definitely be reading more of Morgan Matson’s works in the future. They’re quick reads, they seem fun, but they’re not really life changing.

Leave a Reply

