Review: Vanishing Girls – Lauren Oliver

Vanishing Girls Dara and Nick used to be inseparable, but that was before the accident that left Dara’s beautiful face scarred and the two sisters totally estranged.

When Dara vanishes on her birthday, Nick thinks Dara is just playing around. But another girl, nine-year-old Madeline Snow, has vanished, too, and Nick becomes increasingly convinced that the two disappearances are linked. Now Nick has to find her sister, before it’s too late.

When I see a plot synopsis that is about an accident, estranged sisters, missing girls and has a psychological thriller aspect to it, I’m always intrigued and I expect the book to live up to my expectations. This book was such a huge disappointment that I’m really upset that I wasted my time reading it. I figured out the “twist” within the first third of the book and then continued reading to see how long it would take for everyone to realize it.

The plot was extremely slow and unfortunately, not very interesting. There was nothing that captured my interest and it never really pulled me into the story. I felt really disengaged reading it and that may have been because I figured out what was going on really early in the story. In fact, I felt like I was reading the book for the second time and it wasn’t interesting because I already knew what would happen.

The Dara and Nicole chapters weren’t very distinct. Dara and Nicole as characters weren’t very well-developed. They were one-dimensional characters and so were all the secondary characters as well. Everyone Nicole met at her workplace, the main love interest, and Dara’s friends could have all blurred together into the same person. I also disliked the love triangle aspect to the book, and I really disliked the use of the trope. I just felt that all the characters were such cliche representations of people.

The writing was pretty average, and Lauren Oliver has an unfortunate habit of using really strange metaphors. I also thought the addition of the news blog posts was completely unnecessary, as were the random photos that were put into the book.

Overall, I don’t recommend this book at all to anyone. Please don’t waste your time like I wasted mine.

 

Leave a Reply

