Mini Reviews 5

Unraveling Isobel Unraveling Isobel: This was one of the most poorly written books I’ve ever read. I mean, the book felt like it could have been written by me, and I’m not a good writer at all. It was amusing because the main character uses words I use, but I couldn’t get over how amateur and cliche the book was. You could figure out the twist almost immediately, and the romance was ridiculous. Highly disliked this novel.


And Then There Were None And Then There Were None: Since this is such a classic and beloved mystery novel, I had really high expectations for it. However, I ended up figuring out who the murderer was really early in the novel AND how it would end. It was extremely disappointing. I saw the killer coming from a mile away. Am I the only one who wasn’t impressed by this book?


Everything I Never Told YouEverything I Never Told You: Another book that falls into the overhyped and under-deliver category. I heard such amazing things about this novel, and while there have been a lot of literary fiction novels I’ve read and enjoyed, this one fell short for me. While I appreciated the large ideas of cultural identity and living up to the expectations of the people around you, I couldn’t get past how dull the story was. The only character I cared about was Lydia’s younger sister, Hannah.


The Outsiders The Outsiders: Another classic novel about growing up and family. I actually ended up enjoying this novel more than I thought I would. It was by no means perfect, but it was quite well-written for a 17 year old, which was S.E. Hinton’s age at the time she wrote it. Even though a lot of the novel is dated now since it took place in the 1960’s, the overall message is still applicable. It’s a message that will resound with every person out there. I recommend everybody read this book.


Self-Inflicted Wounds: Heartwarming Tales of Epic Humiliation Self-Inflicted Wounds: This was a really good humorous memoir/collection of stories from Aisha Tyler. I know her as the voice of Lana Kane on Archer and Charlie from Friends. I loved how down to earth she was and how self-deprecating her sense of humour is. She tries a little hard to get her point across and to get a profound message from her experiences, but I still appreciated what she was trying to do. She wants the reader to go out and seize the day, which is sweet of her.

I listened to this on audio, and it was narrated by Aisha Tyler. I recommend it.

Leave a Reply

