Mini Reviews 4

Paper Towns Paper Towns: This was my third John Green novel and it was by far my favourite.

It was laugh out loud funny with an interesting and dynamic group of characters. They were flawed, but still spoke with honesty and were really genuine teenagers. I know John Green gets a lot of flack for making all his characters very similar to each other – all precocious and thoughtful and always on a crazy adventure.

Personally, I like the way he represents his characters. Yes, I sometimes need to suspend disbelief, but most of the time, I get so wrapped up in the story that I forget how unrealistic they may be.

There’s always this humour and warmth in John Green novels that I find myself responding to. I loved this book – highly recommended.


Beyond Belief: My Secret Life Inside Scientology and My Harrowing Escape Beyond Belief: Incredible account of how damaging, manipulative, and horrific Scientology really is. Extremely eye-opening. Absolutely loved how courageous Jenna Miscavige was in opening up about her experiences.

Should be required reading before thinking about joining Scientology.


The Book Thief The Book Thief: This was one of the most unique books I’ve ever read. World War 2 literature is so common, but this was beautifully written and extremely powerful. This novel is narrated by death, which doesn’t feel contrived at all. Death is the perfect narrator for a story about a girl who uses words and books to get through the worst years of her life.

It is a little overhyped though. It’s a beautiful book and well deserving of winning awards, but it’s not as fantastic as everyone makes it out to be.


Looking for Alaska Looking For Alaska: This was probably my least favourite John Green book. I don’t know what it was about it that turned me off. I think the biggest problem I had with it is that Miles, the main character, didn’t seem to exist without Alaska. His whole identity was wrapped around his feelings for her and what happened to her. I felt like he wasn’t a fully fledged person and I never fully connected with him. Not a fan.


A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire, #1) A Game of Thrones: Game of Thrones is my favourite show and so I figured I would start reading the book series. Book 1 was very faithful to the show, but I think I liked Season 1 of the show slightly better than the novel. It humanized certain characters a little bit more and most of my least favourite characters didn’t have as much of an important role.

The Game of Thrones world is extremely interesting and the different political games that the characters play are very entertaining to read about. Definitely going to keep reading the series.

One thought on “Mini Reviews 4

Leave a Reply

