Harvest – Robert Pobi Review

HarvestA stifling heat wave rolls into New York City, amplifying the already critical level of tension in the fragile concrete ecosystem. Recently recovered from a shoot-out that nearly killed her, homicide detective Alexandra “Hemi” Hemingway is already on edge. But then, on the morning Hemi discovers she is pregnant, a twisted serial killer makes his debut. And the heat goes up.

Soon, Hemi is besieged on all fronts as she struggles to catch up to a killer who always seems one step ahead. And as she pieces together the clues along the trail, it isn’t long before tensions boil over and Hemi finds herself a target in the deadly competition.

Not for the faint of heart, Harvest is a relentless ride that takes you through the fractured world of a nascent killer. And you will never feel safe again.

**This book was provided to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review. **

This is the second book I’ve read by Robert Pobi. The first I read was Bloodman, which I absolutely loved. I started reading Harvest with pretty high expectations, and I’m happy to say I wasn’t disappointed.

First off, the characterization of Hemi was perfect. Hemi is a strong, tough heroine who has no problem keeping up with the boys. Since the NYPD is such a male dominated organization, it was refreshing to read about a female police officer who was smart, capable, and the lead in the investigation. It’s a little bit of a pet peeve for me when a mystery novel has a female sidekick who spends the entire time recapping what’s going on. Hemi is sharp, sarcastic, and a little bit of a ball buster. She’s a quick thinker and very decisive. As characters go, I really enjoyed how tough she was and also appreciated that she had feminine issues to deal with – i.e. her pregnancy. Sometimes it was a little bit apparent that she was a woman written by a man, but overall, I was completely on board with her character.

The plot moved at a fantastic pace. I found myself really eager to continue reading every night and had a really hard time stopping. All the characters are so well developed and there are just enough clues scattered throughout the book to keep the reader trying to figure out who the murderer is. The topic of child murder is a very sensitive subject and while the descriptions of the crime scenes and the death is very graphic, it’s not as graphic as Bloodman. Pobi handles the subject of child murder with tact and restraint, which I appreciated. I can’t say enough great things about this book. Just a note – this novel has really short chapters, which personally, I love.

I really hope this is the first in a series because I want a lot more books with Hemi. Robert Pobi is an autobuy author for me now. He’s an author to watch. Both Harvest and Bloodman are highly recommended.

Leave a Reply

