Mini Reviews 1

Since there are a lot of books that I don’t have full reviews for, I thought I’d post a bunch of small ones.

Some Girls Bite (Chicagoland Vampires #1)

Some Girls Bite Chloe Neill

Some Girls Bite: Decent urban fantasy, but I think Merit tried way too hard to be sarcastic and witty. Some of the things she said that impressed other people and made them laugh, I would have just rolled my eyes at. “I don’t do fang.” Really? That’s not even slightly witty.

 

 

 

 


 

A Discovery of Witches (All Souls Trilogy, #1)

A Discovery of Witches Deborah Harkness

A Discovery of Witches: I couldn’t finish this. I tried really hard but the day when I just stared at it and felt physically repulsed to read it, I gave up.

 

 

 

 

 


 

How the Light Gets In

How the Light Gets In M.J. Hyland

How the Light Gets In: This was a book that really resonated with me. There was something haunting about Lou’s experiences and her way of looking at the world was really unique. Even though the ending wasn’t very conclusive, I really liked this book.

 

 

 

 


 

Joyland (Hard Case Crime #112)

Joyland Stephen King

Joyland: I really liked this book. I’ve only read a few other Stephen King novels, but this one was centered more on a who-dun-it mystery aspect than a horror aspect. It was such an atmospheric novel with both great plot and characterization.

My only gripe is that I hate when the timeline shifts back and forth, especially through foreshadowing and that happened a lot in this book. It’s a small grievance, and probably won’t bother anyone else. Highly recommended.

 

 

 


Green to Go (Buck Reilly Adventure Series)

Green to Go John H. Cunningham

Green to Go: Another great addition to the Buck Reilly series. He’s such a fun character to follow and his way of outwitting everyone else is highly entertaining. Buck is such a lovable underdog and you can’t help but root for him.

I liked this novel and will read any of Buck’s further adventures.

I received this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

 

 

 


 

The God Complex

The God Complex Chris Titus

The God Complex: This was a really interesting book and unlike anything else I’ve read this year. I was completely engrossed throughout and I was eager to read it every day. Understanding the principles of Eastern medicine really opened me up to alternative forms of treatment because it made so much sense. I loved the way this book taught the reader something as well as had an interesting mystery behind it.

Really riveting book. Highly recommended.

I received this book through the Librarything Giveaways.

 

 


 

Spirits Rising

Spirits Rising Krista D. Ball

Spirits Rising: Being a Canadian that lives on the other side of Canada as Newfoundland, I was really curious as to how it’d be portrayed. I definitely learned a lot about their history. I enjoyed this story, and I liked the plot. However, this book is a novella, so it seemed a bit rushed. The climax wasn’t especially climactic.

I thought the characters were written well, but once again, there wasn’t as much development as I’d hoped for since the book was so short. Rachel was tough and independent, but then she’d turn around and fawn all over her friend who was in a relationship. It got kind of tiring to hear her thoughts about how she HAD to kick him.

Overall, a decent story. Maybe I’ll check out the sequel.

 

 


 

Reawakened (Once Upon a Time, #1)

Reawakened: Once Upon a Time Odette Beane

Reawakened: This was a really superficial novelization of Season 1. It was lacking a lot of the charm that the show has because we only saw things from Emma and Mary Margaret’s point of view. We didn’t see the other things that were going on with Gold or Regina, which really made it hard to connect with the book. It was also missing the episodes that weren’t centered around the core characters for the same reason.

Mediocre at best, but at least it refreshed my memory about some of the plot points.

 

 

 


 

Blood Calling (Blood Calling, #1)

Blood Calling Joshua Grover-David Patterson

Blood Calling: This is a really light and fun read. I don’t mind first person novels. An interesting take on a vampire story, I especially like that Lucy was introduced to them through a homeless shelter. Lucy is an endearing character and I found her thoughts and actions to be believable as a teenager. Lots of authors don’t know how to write teenagers, but she was written well. Good book.

I received this through the LibraryThing giveaways.

 

 

 

 


 

Misfits

Misfits Joshua Grover-David Patterson

Misfits: I enjoyed this book more than its predecessor. The plot was interesting and exciting and it was nice watching Lucy come to terms with what she is.

Leave a Reply

