The Bourbon Street Ripper – Leo King Review

The Bourbon Street Ripper (Sins of the Father #1) In 1972, the city of New Orleans was terrorized by a serial killer who came to be known as the Bourbon Street Ripper. Although he was captured, convicted, and executed, his deeds left a scar on the city.

Now, twenty years later, the murders have started again, and the secrets of the past, left buried for so long, must be uncovered in order to stop this new horror.

I will be frank. I didn’t finish this book. There is nothing especially wrong with it, but it just wasn’t as interesting or as exciting as I expected it to be. When I start thrillers or mysteries I need to get drawn in really quickly. Otherwise, I find myself sighing in boredom or trudging through the book without any real interest.

However, just because this book didn’t manage to draw me in doesn’t mean it’s a bad book. It’s quite well written, the characters are interesting, and the plot has potential. The difficulty for me was caring about any of them. Another problem for me was the dialog. Sometimes, when the characters talked, I thought the author was purposely making them sound ridiculous. Unfortunately, that was not the case.  Also, there was a lot of vivid description that wasn’t always necessary. Sometimes, describing everything slows down the pace of the book and that was the case in this novel.

I know that it’s very difficult to write a book and since this is a first novel, I’m sure King will get better as he gains more experience. I know lots of people enjoyed this book, it’s just unfortunate that I wasn’t one of them.

Leave a Reply

