Lily: Jetset Misfit – Yarah David Review

Lily: Jetset Misfit
Yarah David

Lily was resigned to a quiet life in a small art gallery in Edinburgh. But then she meets Jake Bevin, a man as indecently attractive as he is shockingly wealthy. When he asks her to join him on a glamorous skiing trip to the French Alps, she jumps at the chance.

But the path of a jetset misfit was never going to be an easy one.

Lily’s rose-tinted visions of passionate clinches on snow banked balconies are swiftly disappointed, and she ends up sliding down the slippery social slopes of St Martin de Belleville as she attempts to cope with the furious one-upmanship and emotional dramas of her new group of friends.

On this ski trip, hearts will be broken as well as bones.

This sparkling, delightful romantic comedy is certain to appeal to fans of Jilly Cooper, Sophie Kinsella, Jane Green, and Jane Costello.

This book starts off a little rushed. It feels like before we’ve even gotten to know Lily and her friends, she is being thrust into a romantic situation with Jake. Slower plot progression would have been preferred. Also, I sometimes found it a little jumpy when all of a sudden, someone would talk about their opinions of Lily when we were only supposed to be seeing things through her eyes. It was an awkward transition to suddenly be learning about her character from someone else. Also, being Canadian, I had a hard time with some of the British lingo, but it didn’t detract from the story.

I liked Lily. She was a little naive and too quick to put her heart on her sleeve, but there was something romantic about that and I liked her for it. The progression of the story was quite unpredictable and I found myself guessing who Lily was going to end up with (and I guessed wrong!), which was a nice change for a chick-lit book.

The whole story is quite cute and I enjoyed it. It’s lighthearted, with just enough romance and humor to make it fun to read. Yarah David is an excellent addition to the chick-lit genre.

Lily: Jetset Misfit can be found at Endeavour Press. Some of you might care that Endeavour Press is launching a program called New Endeavours soon and are currently accepting submissions. If any of you are interested, you can check out www.endeavourpress.com.

Advertisements

One thought on “Lily: Jetset Misfit – Yarah David Review

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s