The Woman in Black

Yesterday, a few of my friends and I went to see The Woman in Black. Honestly, most of us were just going to see what Daniel Radcliffe was going to do after Harry Potter.

All right, it’s a REALLY good movie. I’m a huge fan of horror movies in general, but I really hate the trend of unnecessary gore.  The Woman in Black goes back to the classic, creepy horror movie. In a dark movie theatre, the atmosphere is frightening as anything and I think all of us jumped tons.

Now the funny part. Since the movie takes place in England (and in the Victorian era), it seemed very Harry Potter-ish.  I have to admit, my friends and I were cracking Harry Potter jokes throughout the entire movie…i.e. “Alohamora!” when he was rattling the closed doorknob, “He needs a wand!” when he grabbed his hatchet to go upstairs, and “THE CHAMBER OF SECRETS HAS BEEN OPENED” when he was peeling the wallpaper off the room and saw the red ink. Trust me, when you watch the movie, you’ll see what I mean.

I totally recommend it though. I hope Daniel Radcliffe starts to shy away from the periodic pieces though…maybe work on his American accent a little and get different roles.

Leave a Reply

